Bright Light’s 2019, Windsor, ON Review

Last year our city came up with the idea of turning Jackson Park into a Winter Wonderland by decorating it with millions of lights at a cost to our city of approximately $1.5 million. This was announced not too long before some areas of our city experienced flooding. When this occurred there was a social media backlash regarding Bright Lights and many people ranted that the money should be spent repairing the sewer system.

I did not agree with the detractors because I knew that 1.5 million dollars would not make a dent in the budget that would be required to give an overhaul to the areas needed. I felt that Windsor, not exactly known for having a lot to do, could really benefit by having an attraction like Bright Lights.

We went to the first one last year (video below) and we were very impressed. Apparently it was visited by at least 60,000 people, so it was an obvious success. This year, it was bigger and better and they say next year it will continue to grow. So what did I think of the new version? Well here goes.

Canadian Maple Leaf: To pay homage to our country there was a HUGE Maple Leaf you could walk through. It was spectacular and looked like shimmering diamonds. This was a very welcome and very impressive addition to the display.

Santa’s Sleigh: This sleigh was hand crafted by our own city carpenters and it looked just like a sleigh you would see in the movies. People could go sit in it and take pictures which was very nice. Santa, a friendly chap with a real beard even went to sit it in a spell and children went to visit him in the sleigh. Such a nice touch.

Stilt Guy: I have no idea what to call this gentleman but he was dressed up for the holidays in an outfit that was covered in lights. He was animated, he was friendly and you saw him all over the park, more than willing to take pictures with people. Things like this really get you in the holiday spirit.

Windsor Sign: The Windsor Sign was ground level, huge, perfect for pictures and lit up, although not as bright as it looked in the videos. It’s about time we celebrated this city. Loved it.

Polar Express: Ok, so they didn’t call this the Polar Express just a “train” but that is what it reminded me of. It’s a tiny train, but was able to accommodate adults as well and did a short loop around the back end of the park through a tunnel of lights. While I didn’t ride it, I thought that the kids would absolutely love this.

Village Market: This is something I mentioned to my daughter last year that I thought they should have. They added numerous little wooden stalls for craftsmen and artisans to sell their wares. In addition they also had some food vendors, also much needed. Sadly I wasn’t all that impressed by it. I am not sure why, maybe it was the height the display shelves were on, about chest high on me (I’m 5’4) rather than table height like we usually see at craft fares. Although there were a huge amount of vendors who applied the vendors chosen for the night I was there was just lacking in the Christmas spirit. There was one vendor that sold some Christmas items, the rest, honestly, I don’t remember what they sold because I just walked right on by. I was hoping for things like handmade Christmas crafts, perhaps Christmas cookies, fudge, a lot of things related to the holidays. We didn’t get that. The second section of them on the left, I don’t even think they sold any goods, they looked like empty stalls with pamphlets on it. The few stalls on the right as you walked in impressed me even less. The first one was 2 ladies with information regarding a Concrete company. Something that no one is interested in, this time of year at least. Perhaps they were a sponsor, but I thought it was such a waste of space that could have gone to the many vendors I know of in the city that could have provided a better experience. The food deserves it’s own review.

Food Vendors: What a HUGE disappointment. We went there right when it opened, and hungry. We knew there would be food vendors and we thought we would support them by buying something to eat there. Well, there wasn’t much choice. The fist vendor sold waffle sticks that either had chocolate and marshmallow (smores) a Christmas Tree with what looked like mini m&m’s and another one. All at $5 each. That was pricey, but you expect to pay more at these events. My daughter and I each got the smores one. The gentleman told us that a man early in the night came up and gave them $50 to pay for the next people in line and several other people did the same. I loved hearing that story. I anxiously bit into my smores waffle and the entire little strip of chocolate holding the marshmallow instantly fell off without me getting a single bite. I was left with a dry, somewhat tasteless waffle. The second vendor in a Windsor Eats truck sold fries. You could choose from plain fries ($5), Chili Fries ($10) or Poutine ($10). My daughter and I both choose the regular fries which were thick cut. I was impressed by the size of the fries and neither one of us could finish our tray. Last but not least there was a Kettle Corn vendor, they carried an array of flavours. Ok, that was it. Fries, popcorn and a waffle on a stick. Really? That’s it? There was zero reason they could not have expanded the number of vendors to give more of a variety. You know, maybe a hot dog, or the million other things you can buy at fairs. So while I appreciated the fries, and thought the sample of kettle corn was good, the the waffle stick was probably good (hey, things happen and my daughter said hers was good, so no hate there), it simply wasn’t enough variety.

Tim Horton’s Truck: I am including this in the new section because I heard they had this last year although I think it was just on weekends so I missed it. Time Horton’s handed out your choice of Regular Hot Chocolate, White Hot Chocolate or coffee. Since it was absolutely freezing on opening night, this was VERY welcome and much appreciated. The line wasn’t that long. That could however be due to being located in a part of the park that wasn’t as busy.

Additional Lights: They expanded the area covered in lights to include an area farther back in the park. It was pretty, but not all that impressive. There are not as many trees in that area, and they didn’t have any of the “wow” factor displays that they did up front. Still though, it was nice to see it being expanded and hopefully next year they will fill this area in more.

So my recommendations for next year?
Vendors: Try and include more vendors that sell items related to the holidays. Maybe fill those pamphlet and concrete booths with more vendors.

Food: More selection please. I am sure a larger number of people would have purchased food if there was more variety.

Hours of Operation: I believe, and please correct me if I am wrong, that the vendor stalls, the hot chocolate and the food vendors are only open on the weekend. I would allow vendors to open up during the week if they so desire at no extra charge to just add more to the experience. I doubt Santa and the Stilts guy are there during the week either. Last year we went during the week and just felt it needed “more” and while they have added greatly to it this year, people who visit during the week simply don’t get the full experience.

Overall impression. One of the VERY BEST things Windsor has done for its citizens in my memory (and I’m 60). I think it will become an attraction that will draw in much needed tourism dollars during the bleak winter. Everywhere I looked I saw smiles, families taking pictures and didn’t notice anyone with their nose in their phones other than to record a video or take a picture. We need this. We need things to go out and do with the family where social media is forgotten even for a short while and we live in the moment.

Kudos to the City of Windsor for not caving under pressure and giving us something we can be incredibly proud of.

Bright Lights 2017 Video

Bright Lights 2018 Video

Author: Dee

This is my life. I love my new little town. I share my life whether it is recipes, adventures, travel, spirituality or a host of other things. Join me on my journey for a whole new me.

Leave a comment